I just started reading “Jack: Straight from the Gut” which is the Autobiography of  Jack Welch.

In the first few pages of the book (page 5 paragraph 4 to be precise) I found something I had to share.  He’s talking about his mom’s early influence on his life:

“Perhaps the greatest single gift she gave me was self-confidence.  It’s what I’ve looked for and tried to build in every execitive who has ever worked with me.  Confidence gives you courage and extends your reach.  It lets you take greater risks and achieve far more than you ever thought possible.   Building self-confidence in others is a huge part of leaadership.  It comes from providing opportunities and challenges for people to do things they never imagined they could do – rewarding them after each success in every way possible.”

