Lisa Wilberding posted a great post last week. Intimidation from the Alleged “Social Media Expert” that really got me thinking.

What IS a “Social Media Expert” anyway?  I know some who I’ve really enjoyed reading and learning from.  Some, I’ve started not to pay as much attention to.

Social Media is, and should be perceived as, simply another mechanism to hear and be heard. An extension of yourself as a human with human relationships. Just like any other format, there are good and bad things about the genre, and good and bad things about the interaction processes, and people who communicate better than others.

Personally, I think it’s rude to talk on a cell phone while at a table, but I know plenty of people who do it, and think it’s perfectly fine. (Example of differences of opinion on a communication methodology.)

I happen to be someone who uses networking events to meet new people and establish RELATIONSHIPS, but I know plenty of people who use those times as simply an ad.

My feeling is that as people become more comfortable with new communication mechanisms, that they will continue to gravitate towards people they like, or people that they can easily communicate with, people that they need, or that need them. Doubtless we ALL will break some china while we’re at it. And in the end, it will be interesting to see what happens next. It’s all transitory.

Keep communicating. It is, after all, part of what makes us human.

