Hey- I know I haven’t added anything for a while, but running some calls with a rep today, I had a great (if short) conversation about sales development through reading. It really brought back something that I believe to be a key component of success in sales. It sounds elementary, but READING. This is one of the best ways you can educate yourself and hone your skills. There are a TON of great professional development books out there, but here are a couple of my favorites:

The Little Red Book of Selling: 12.5 Principles of Sales Greatness

Little Red Book of Sales Answers: 99.5 Real World Answers That Make Sense, Make Sales, and Make Money

Jeffery Gitomer‘s “Little Red Book’s” of Sales and Sales answers are no BS, cut to the chase books of sales gems. Even if you hate to read, these are infinitely readable. I recommend all of his books (at least the ones that I have read), and also recommend the Little Black Book of Connections: 6.5 Assets for Networking Your Way to Rich Relationships. This is a great networking (key to sales success) “How To” book.

From a tech sales perspective, I KNOW that you can be more successful if you have a system – especially one that works… (duh). One of the books that I’ve incorporated into my system is Secrets of Question Based Selling: How the Most Powerful Tool in Business Can Double Your Sales Results. QBS was written by a guy that understands how technology sales works- it’s not a real estate how-to, it’s a great and proven sales system designed for modern tech sales.

Once again, anything that can build your ability to interface well with your customers, to be a value added consultant, bringing them technology that is in line with their business process, the more successful you will be. It’s a formula, and the formula works.

Some of my other favorites include Sandler’s You Can’t Teach a Kid to Ride a Bike at a Seminar : The Sandler Sales Institute’s 7-Step System for Successful Selling

The New Solution Selling: The Revolutionary Sales Process That is Changing the Way People Sell and then the older classics from people like Napolean Hill, Clement Stone, Brian Tracy (Focal Point is a great goalsetting book as well).

Well, I’m off to read my new airport bookstore acquisitions… (can’t seem to pass a bookstore without spending money- not the worst addiction to have I suppose)…

Have a great Friday, and don’t forget that Sunday is Mother’s Day!

